Reviewing “HRC” by Jonathan Allen & Amie Parnes

Book Review of HRC by Jonathan Allen & Amie Parnes

 I finally finished the reading of HRC! It took me a while, because I didn’t want to rush through it and also, because I was getting distracted by life. But better later than never, right?

When I first saw HRC by Jonathan Allen & Amie Parnes in stores, I was automatically drawn to it. One reason was the beautiful cover which makes of Hillary Clinton the focus point against a dark background. Another reason was that I just love the Clintons. There was a time when I read a lot of political books, but after starting undergraduate college, with all the serious readings I had to do for my classes, I just didn’t want to go home to another heavy topic. So I kind of fell off the wagon of nonfiction, trading it for fiction. Lately this year however, I have been wanting to get back on the nonfiction wagon, and seeing HRC* was a good excuse to do it.

Book Review of HRC by Jonathan Allen & Amie Parnes

The book is divided into four parts, each covering different time points of Hillary Clinton’s politics, from being in the Senate to her becoming the State Secretary. Throughout the 448 pages that make this book, we get a good wrap-up of her most recent role as Secretary of State and inside information which make the reading experience even better. Reading the book I felt as if I was there, and I could feel all the emotions that the authors – who clearly had a lot of inside access – wanted the reader to feel. HRC brings you inside the campaign ‘war’ rooms and gives detailed accounts of the choices Hillary Clinton had to make, thus paving the way for a new relationship with President Obama. Of course the book doesn’t just address her strengths, it also highlights her shortcomings. And that’s what makes this a great political read.

In the end I can say that I felt the book gave a fair account of Hillary’s last years of work. As a political book, it will not suit everyone’s tastes, but if you do enjoy this kind of litterature, then you should give HRC a try.

Find out more about the book here and the authors here.

* I make every effort to test and review products fairly and transparently. The views expressed in this review are my personal views and this particular product review was not sponsored or paid for in any way by the publishing house or an agent working on their behalf. However, Blogging for Books did send me the product for testing and review purposes.

Side Note: This review first was published on my personal blog.
Share your Thoughts

